Quick Results 6.7.19- Lynch, Swartzlander and Zambotti Take Second Feature Wins; Miley tops Late Models

Tommy Hein Photo

Sarver, PA (June 8, 2019)  Fireworks were found in the sky and on the track on Friday night as the fifth Fab4 Friday of 2019 went in the record books in front of a large crowd. And when all was said and done, the streak of 16 consecutive features with a different winner came to an end as three of the four visitors to Terry Bowser Excavation Victory Lane claimed their second feature wins on the season at The Action Track.

In the Peoples Gas Sprints, Carl Bowser looked to be well on the way to his first win of the season until Sye Lynch came up with a lap 19 pass to assume command of the field. Once there, he fought off a stiff challenge from AJ Flick in the waning laps en route to his second feature win of the season. Two red flag incidents occurred, first when last week’s winner Jack Sodeman Jr and Pete Landrum tangled in turn four before the opening lap and again with eight laps down for Frankie Nervo who went end over end in turn two. All drivers were okay.

Meanwhile, Jared Miley was able to hold off a hard charging Dan Angellichio for 25 laps by way of maneuvering well in lapped traffic while showing a great deal of speed. Miley found victory lane for the first time in four attempts in 2019.  The bad luck continued for Michael Norris as he lost a driveshaft while running second while last Friday’s winner Ken Schaltenbrand rounded out the podium.

Brian Swartzlander moved forward from his sixth starting spot with authority, passing division front runners Rex King Jr. and Sr as well as Garrett Krummert en route to his second win of the season in Diehl Automotive Big Block Modified action.  Swartzlander fended off a late race challenge from Jeremiah Shingledecker and pegged a key late race restart for his 97th Action Track feature win while Shingledecker and Krummert rounded out the top three finishers.  And in the Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar main event, Corey McPherson and Tyler Dietz each suffered early race difficulties setting the stage for a battle between Joe Kelley and Joey Zambotti for the lead early on. Zambotti took it for good on lap twelve and was good on key restarts with 15 laps down which enabled him to retain the lead en route to victory lane as McPherson rebounded for a second place finish. Ryan Moyer who had battled hard all evening saw his bid for another win come short as he found himself bringing out he caution with five laps to go. Moyer was able to drive up through the field to salvage a third place finish.

Racing returns to The Action Track once again this coming Tuesday, June 11 as we present our annual Summer Vacation and School Bus Race night complete with Trailer Races, Powder Puff Races, the Inaugural Dougie Tomson Autism Awareness Race, a Demolition Derby and a 100 lap Enduro.

To listen to the latest edition of The Action Track Podcast recorded live after the races on Friday night including audio from the track, race recaps, victory lane interviews and an interview with Peoples Gas Sprint Car Driver Carl Bowser Click Here


Peoples Natural Gas DIRTcar 410 Sprint Feature: (25 Laps)

  1. (42) Sye Lynch
  2. (2) AJ Flick
  3. (11) Carl Bowser
  4. (1J) Brandon Fredericks
  5. (12) Darin Gallagher
  6. (44) Pete Landrum
  7. (4K) Bill Kiley
  8. (154) Shamus O’Donnell
  9. (56) Ralph Spithaler
  10. (4N) Jimmy Morris
  11. (21N) Frankie Nervo
  12. (91) Sadie Siegel
  13. (6) Todd Burgard
  14. (14) Jeremy Hill
  15. (23jr) Jack Sodeman Jr.
  16. (38) Leyton Wagner- Did Not Start
  17. (331) Nevan O’Donnell- Did Not Start


Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models Feature: (25 Laps)

  1. (10) Jared Miley
  2. (14) Dan Angellichio
  3. (29) Ken Schaltenbrand
  4. (81) Mike Miller
  5. (9) Clayton Kennedy
  6. (28C) Clate Copeman
  7. (15*) Kelvin Kohan
  8. (90J) Michael Duritsky
  9. (10) Zachery Kane
  10. (77H) Heath Close
  11. (72) Michael Norris
  12. (44P) Joe Petyak
  13. (92) Jayme Beck
  14. (11) Joshua Powell
  15. (77) Tyler Dietz


Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Northeast Big Block Modified Feature: (25 Laps)

  1. (83) Brian Swartzlander
  2. (37md) Jeremiah Shingledecker
  3. (29) Garrett Krummert
  4. (165) Rex King Jr.
  5. (65) Rex King Sr.
  6. (45) Steve Feder
  7. (13) Rick Regalski
  8. (61) Dave Murdick
  9. (3K) Shawn Kozar
  10. (25) Butch Lambert
  11. (27R) Dave Reges
  12. (A51) Bill Barr
  13. (75) Jeff Miller
  14. (4J) John Mollick- Did Not Start
  15. (22) Kevin Long- Did Not Start


Millerstown Pic-A-Part RUSH/DIRTcar Pro Stocks Feature: (20 Laps)

  1. (948) Joey Zambotti
  2. (C33) Corey McPherson
  3. (13X) Ryan Moyer
  4. (25) Brett McDonald
  5. (10) John Hartman
  6. (26) Mike Bordt
  7. (35b) Jake Dietz
  8. (29B) Scott Byers
  9. (310) Dale Tuche
  10. (66) Joe Kelley
  11. (32) Mark Sanders
  12. (17) Sam Eichelberger
  13. (22JR) Chase Lambert
  14. (27) Tyler Dietz
  15. (28Y) Terry Young



Glassmere Fuel Serivice Heat 1 for Peoples Gas Sprints:

  1. (21N) Frankie Nervo
  2. (4N) Jimmy Morris
  3. (56) Ralph Spithaler
  4. (1J) Brandon Fredericks
  5. (14) Jeremy Hill
  6. (44) Pete Landrum
  7. (91) Sadie Siegel
  8. (154) Shamus O’Donnell


Dlubak Powder Coating Heat 2 for Peoples Gas Sprints:

  1. (42) Sye Lynch
  2. (2) AJ Flick
  3. (11) Carl Bowser
  4. (23jr) Jack Sodeman Jr.
  5. (38) Leyton Wagner
  6. (12) Darin Gallagher
  7. (4K) Bill Kiley
  8. (9) Todd Burgard
  9. (331) Nevan ODonnell- Did Not Start


Hotel Saxonburg Heat 1 for Precise Late Models:

  1. (81) Mike Miller
  2. (14) Dan Angellichio
  3. (28C) Clate Copeman
  4. (15*) Kelvin Kohan
  5. (44P) Joe Petyak
  6. (77) Tyler Dietz
  7. (10) Zachery Kane


Lojack’s Cycle Shop Heat 2 for Precise Late Models:

  1. (72) Michael Norris
  2. (29) Ken Schaltenbrand
  3. (10) Jared Miley
  4. (9) Clayton Kennedy
  5. (90J) Michael Duritsky
  6. (92) Jayme Beck
  7. (77H) Heath Close- Did Not Start



McCutcheon Enterprises Heat 1 for Diehl Modifieds:

  1. (4J) John Mollick
  2. (37md) Jeremiah Shingledecker
  3. (165) Rex King Jr.
  4. (83) Brian Swartzlander
  5. (75) Jeff Miller
  6. (45) Steve Feder
  7. (3K) Shawn Kozar
  8. (25) Butch Lambert


Thermo Twin Windows Heat 2 for Diehl Modifieds:

  1. (65) Rex King Sr.
  2. (29) Garrett Krummert
  3. (13) Rick Regalski
  4. (61) Dave Murdick
  5. (A51) Bill Barr
  6. (27R) Dave Reges
  7. (22) Kevin Long


Thoma Meat Market Heat 1 for Pic-A-Part Pro Stocks:

  1. (66) Joe Kelley
  2. (27) Tyler Dietz
  3. (13X) Ryan Moyer
  4. (32) Mark Sanders
  5. (22jr) Chase Lambert
  6. (10) John Hartman
  7. (310) Dale Tuche
  8. (35b) Jake Dietz- Did Not Start


Hovis Auto and Truck Supply Heat 2 for Pic-A-Part Pro Stocks:

  1. (948) Joey Zambotti
  2. (25) Brett McDonald
  3. (C33) Corey McPherson
  4. (26) Mike Bordt
  5. (17) Sam Eichelberger
  6. (29B) Scott Byers
  7. (28Y) Terry Young- Did Not Start

 Car Count Total: 61

Peoples Natural Gas Sprints: 17

Precise Late Models: 14

Diehl Modifieds: 15

Pic-A-Part Sportsman: 15


Leave a Reply