Action Track Preview: Christmas In July On Tap This Friday

John Stivason/Stivason Photos


Sarver, PA (July 12, 2018) The Action track will take on a different look this Friday night as the Fab4 Fueled by Turners Premium Iced Tea. There will be Christmas colors almost everywhere fans look on the main concourse level and an appearance from Santa Claus himself and on the track the Peoples Gas DIRTcar Sprints, Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models, Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds and Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar/RUSH Pro Stocks will be putting another fantastic Friday night of racing action.

Flick Gains Separation; Shetler and Hobaugh Hungry For Wins

By virtue of a performance that saw him move from his eighth place starting spot to a podium position last Friday, points leader AJ Flick now owns a 20 point lead over second running Jack Sodeman Jr. Perhaps the hottest drivers headed into the night might be Dan Shetler and George Hobaugh though. Shetler has come from far back in each of his last two main events to snag back to back second place finishes while Hobaugh nearly pulled off a huge upset victory at Sharon Speedway last Saturday night as he took the lead from Dave Blaney late in the Sprint car portion of the Annual Lou Blaney Memorial.  Blaney would make his way back around Hobaugh for the win, however Hobaugh would manage to hold on to second place in the prestigious event.

Current Point Standings (Top 5):

  1. AJ Flick-234
  2. Jack Sodeman Jr.- 214
  3. George Hobaugh- 204
  4. Brandon Matus- 190
  5. Brent Matus0 184

Business As Usual For Norris; Flinner Brings Familiar Look

Michael Norris could be primed to sweep the second half of the Fab4 Late Model features, which would cap one of the most dominant regular seasons in Lernerville history. The Firecracker 100 Preliminary Night feature winner has five wins in seven main events and has made them look easy. Meanwhile, Colton Flinner has been steadily improving in his limited appearances in 2018 and put forth his second podium finish of the season last Friday night as he wound up third behind Norris and Andrew Wylie who made his first visit of the season to The Action Track.  Flinner piloted the number 4T8 normally driven by former multi-time track champion John Flinner last Friday night and looked impressive in taking the third spot.

Current Point Standings (Top 5):

  1. Michael Norris- 272
  2. Ken Schaltenbrand- 196
  3. Gary Lyle- 180
  4. Mike Pegher Jr. 144
  5. Tommy Beck- 137

King Jr. Continues Solid Campaign

Jeremiah Shingledecker managed to take his first feature win of the season last Friday night after pulling ahead of Garrett Krummert in a thrilling battle. However, Rex King Jr. was able to take the final podium spot in workmanlike fashion, moving forward from his mid pack starting spot in a performance that only solidified his current points lead as he moves towards his second track championship. Behind him, Dave Murdick continued his resurgent 2018 season with yet another top five finish which has allowed him to take up the second spot in the standings as he looks for his first feature win at The Action Track in quite some time.


Current Point Standings (Top 5):

  1. Rex King Jr. – 261
  2. Dave Murdick- 224
  3. Brian Swarzlander- 210
  4. Garrett Krummert- 197
  5. John Mollick- 179


Dietz and McPherson Set To Do Battle Through August

The battle between Tyler Dietz and Corey McPherson took another turn in intensity last Friday night as the two drivers found themselves once again at the front of the main event with neither giving an inch. Dietz emerged victorious, but was unable to gain any breathing room on McPherson in the standings.

Current Point Standings  (Top 5):

  1. Tyler Dietz- 259
  2. Corey McPherson- 257
  3. Noah Brunell- 235
  4. Joey Zambotti- 213
  5. Ryan Moyer- 203

Pits will open at 4 PM with grandstands opening at 5 PM and racing starting at 7:30 PM sharp. Adult general admission is $15, $12 for Seniors; $10 for students ages 11-17 and children 10 and under are free of charge. Pit passes are available for $25 for DIRTcar Members and $30 for non members. We look forward to seeing you there.

Leave a Reply