Action Track Preview: Flick Looks To Go Back To Back In B.O.S.S Sprint Action

Patrick Miller Photo

Sarver, PA (June 28, 2018) The annual Wingless Sprint Car battle featuring the BOSS Wingless Sprint Cars is ready to take center stage at The Action Track on Friday night.  And one driver who will be looking to break the tie between the Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series touring regulars and the Peoples Gas DIRTcar Sprint competitors is AJ Flick. The current score between the two sides is deadlocked at two, with Logan Hupp and Justin Owen taking victories for the B.O.S.S side of things, while Jack Sodeman Jr. and Flick own the two wins for the weekly Lernerville drivers.

The tie will be broken on Friday night, and when all is said and done, Flick may be the one who will have broken it. The two-time track champion took last year’s battle in a very impressive and decisive fashion after taking two runner-up finishes in the years prior. Flick relishes the opportunity to take the wings off and show what he can do against the field of invaders.

“That race is something that I circle on my calendar,” Flick said in a recent interview. “What we did to those guys last year, that traveling series, it still shocks me and is something that we still talk about in the garage. But, one outing doesn’t prove anything. We’re going to be more prepared for it this time than we ever have before. Believe it or not, I’ve spent a lot of the off season preparing for a race like this. It’s one race a year, but it means a lot to me. I can showcase my talents without a wing on. I don’t have to worry so much about setups because in my opinion you can overcome some setup weaknesses when you’re driving a wingless car. It kind of takes me back to my roots and I’ve been running the Modified a little bit so I definitely think I’ll be well prepared for this race.”


B.O.S.S Tour Drivers At A Glance

Several new faces are on the BOSS tour this year. Some will be seeing Lernerville Speedway for the first time. The versatile veteran, Bill Rose from Plainfield, Indiana is the current point leader with Tampa, Florida native, Joe Liguori, in hot pursuit. Paul Dues of Minster, Ohio sits in the 3rd spot after scoring his first tour victory just a few weeks back in Kentucky. 2014 series champ, Mike Miller from Wapakoneta, Ohio, sits in the 4th spot while Matt Cooley and Ted Hines site tied for 5th spot.

The balance of the top 10 in the current standings include Cody Gardner,Chad Wilson, Ty Tilton and Steve Little. Eleven through 15 are Bob McMillin, Buddy Lowther, Joe Butera, Lee Underwood and Dustin Smith. Fans can expect to see most of the top 15 in action Friday along with a host of local racers who have always supported the BOSS tour very well.

Four Races; Four Winners

The Allegheny Sprint Tour 305 Sprint Cars will be making their fifth appearance in the past two seasons and there has been a different winner in all of them thus far. Roger Irvine, Greg Dobrosky, Jonathan Jones and Drew Ritchey have each crossed under the checkers first in recent action at Lernerville.

Ruth JR. and Kent Wage Tight Battle in RUSH Sprints

If you’re keeping score, Gale Ruth Jr. leads Arnie Kent by a two to one score headed into RUSH Sprint Car action on Friday night. The two veteran wheel men have raced hard in each of the first three appearances of 2018 at The Action Track and look to continue the battle for the remaining races left on the schedule.  The action behind them has witnessed the emergence of Zach Morrow who has managed to drive his way to a podium spot in two of the first three races and could be primed to become a feature winner sooner rather than later.


For fans that would like to watch but cannot attend, there will be a pay per view broadcast for the complete program of racing via ETC Sports Network for $19.95. You can purchase your online virtual ticket right here!

Pits will open at 4 PM on Friday night with grandstands opening at 5 PM and racing starting at 7:30 PM sharp. Adult general admission is $15, $12 for Seniors, $10 for students ages 11-17 and children 10 and under are free. Pit passes are available for $25 for DIRTcar members and $30 for non members. We look forward to seeing you there!

Leave a Reply