Lernerville Preview: Dollar Dog Night/Faith Night and Meet The Drivers Night On Tap This Friday



John Stivason/Stivason Photos


Sarver, PA (July 12, 2017) Following the second Fab Four racing event cancellation of 2017, the action will resume as the held over Dollar Dog Night, Faith Night and a special “Meet The Drivers” night all coincide this Friday night at The Action Track. We will have $1 grilled hot dogs ready to go all night long, and clergy members as well as their spouses will receive free admission with proper ID.

When last we left off  with Fab Four Fueled By Turner’s Premium Iced Tea action, Jack Sodeman Jr., Russ King, Matt Williamson and Corey McPherson all found themselves chugging the tea in Terry Bowser Excavating Victory Lane, while Tyler Dietz took the feature victory in Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar/RUSH Pro Stock action two Friday’s ago as a part of the card joining the BOSS Non-Wing Sprints,  RUSH Late Models and Sportsman Modifieds.

Adult general admission is $14 Friday night, $11 for seniors, $7 for students while children 10 and under are free.  Pit gates will be open at 4 PM with grandstands opening at 5 PM and racing starting at 7:30 sharp!


Peoples Natural Gas DIRTcar Sprints

Jack Sodeman may have taken the last Fab Four feature in Sprint Car action, but AJ Flick put on a clinic last Friday night in lapping all the way up to the seventh spot and holding off a furious charge from Justin Owen, taking the BOSS Sprint feature win.  Sodeman and Flick are part of a three car battle for the points lead with second place driver Dan Shetler with the top three separated by just 16 points. Flick recently did the area sprints proud by posting quick time at the All Star Sprint portion of the Lou Blaney Memorial at Sharon Speedway last Saturday.

There’s still plenty of time remaining for fourth and fifth running Dan Kuriger and Cory Good to make up ground. Kuriger already has one feature victory this season and Good has found the top five in each of his last three attempts.

Points Coming Into The Night

  1. AJ Flick- 197
  2. Dan Shetler- 196
  3. Jack Sodeman Jr.- 181
  4. Dan Kuriger- 164
  5. Cory Good- 155

Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models

Micheal Norris appears to be in great position to take his first title, though Alex Ferree is certainly within reach and perhaps has his best night’s yet to come, but coming into Friday, Russ King is the hottest driver.  King took his first victory of the season three weeks ago and followed it up with an impressive Firecracker 100 performance that saw him finish best among local drivers.  He also managed to finish under the checkered flag first last Friday in RUSH touring Late Model action, collecting a $2,000 payday in the process.

Finishing second to King two weeks ago was Mike Pegher Jr. who looked very impressive and is perhaps due for some good luck at The Action Track following a first half that has seen him suffer mechanical gremlins on more than one occasion as can also be said for Matt Lux who has two victories at Lernerville in the last two seasons.

Points Coming Into The Night

  1. Michael Norris- 189
  2. Alex Ferree-164
  3. Clayton Kennedy-117
  4. Matt Lux- 113
  5. Russ King-111

Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds

So far in 2017, It’s been Mat Williamson’s Modified world, everyone has been living in it.  The Canadian Sensation has five wins on the season so far and is on the verge of winning his third straight race for the second time this season.  Behind him, Brian Swartzlander has been consistently hitting the podium and has one victory thus far in the campaign, but lies 33 points back in the season standings.

Former track champion Rex King Jr.  has come on of late, earning back to back second place finishes coming into action on Friday night while Jeremiah Shingledecker might be due some luck and a feature victory in the second half of the season. The former track champion also took the feature win at the Lou Blaney Memorial at Sharon Speedway last Saturday.

Points Coming Into The Night

  1. Mat Williamson- 234
  2. Brian Swartzlander-201
  3. Dave Murdick- 168
  4. Jeremiah Shingledecker- 161
  5. JR McGinley-144

Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar/RUSH Pro Stocks

Points leader and defending champion Corey McPherson almost pulled off the almost impossible four peat two Friday’s ago as he came back through the field twice following cautions to earn a second place finish.  But earning the winner’s share of the points was Tyler Dietz who now owns two victories on the season and finds himself 36 points back of McPherson.  Dietz has gone through some setup challenges but looks to have righted the ship and will need some luck to fall his way in the second half of the season, but is more than capable of taking advantage of the opportunities should the breaks present themselves.

Behind them, Aaron Easler and Joey Zambotti have found themselves towards the front of the competitive field of cars more often than not this season. Easler has one victory thus far and Zambotti has finished outside the top five just once this season.  Former champion Jason Fosnaught has had a rough first half of 2017, becoming involved in some unfortunate cautions here and there, but looked very competitive last week, taking home his first podium spot of the season, finishing behind McPherson and Dietz.

Points Coming Into The Night:

  1. Corey McPherson- 259
  2. Tyler Dietz- 221
  3. Aaron Easler- 219
  4. Joey Zambotti- 205
  5. Joe Kelley- 180

Leave a Reply