Fab4 Fueled by Turner’s Championship Night Quick Results 8.26

8.26 Jack Champ.JPG

Corey McPherson seals his fourth title with his fifth win of the season

Rex King Jr., Brandon Spithaler & Matt Lux win features

Mat Williamson, Jack Sodeman Jr. & Russ King crowned as Champions


Sarver, PA (August 26, 2016) Beautiful weather graced Fab4 Racing Fueled by Turner’s Premium Iced Teas Championship Night as we crowned our 2016 Track Champions.  The 2016 season ended just as many night have ended the past five or six seasons; with Corey McPherson in Dlubak Powder Coatings Victory Lane.  After clearing Joe Kelley and Joey Zambotti for second, McPherson reeled in and drove past 18-lap leader Aaron Easler with two to go and cruised to his fifth Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar Sportsman/Stock feature win of the season to cap off his fourth title in five years.


Rex King Jr. chased his father for most of the race, but feeling the pressure from Brian Swartzlander and Mat Williamson, King eventually capitalized when King Sr. bobbled on the cushion in turn three.  Once out front, King rolled to his second feature win of the season.  King was followed in Dlubak Victory Lane by 2016 Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Northeast Big Block Modifieds Track Champion Mat Williamson; his third title in the past four seasons.


Brandon Spithaler inherited the lead midrace when Danny Shetler flipped off turn two and had to fend off a late charge by Carl Bowser to win his second Peoples Natural Gas DIRTcar Sprint feature of the season.  By virtue of his heat race win and taking the green flag in the feature, Jack Sodeman Jr. joined his Hall of Fame father as a Lernerville Sprint Champion.  While the title was secured, Sodeman raced hard to a fourth place finish.


Matt Lux made it look easy, while many of his peers in the Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models had mechanical and/or driver induced errors.  Lux started on the pole and was never seriously challenged en route to his first feature win of the season and his third as driver of the Jim Detman #111.  Despite a DNF due to self-admitted driver error, Russ King was recognized as the 2016 Late Model Champion; joining his brother Rex King Jr. as the first pair of brothers to win Lernerville Track Championships!




Peoples Natural Gas DIRTcar 410 Sprint Feature: (25 Laps)

  1. (22) Brandon Spithaler, Evans City
  2. (10) Carl Bowser, Sarver
  3. (56) Ralph Spithaler, Evans City
  4. (13) Brandon Matus, Wampum
  5. (23Jr) Jack Sodeman Jr., N. Jackson, OH
  6. (8) Bryan Sebetto, Freemont, OH
  7. (2) AJ Flick, Apollo
  8. (24) Alex Paden, New Wilmington
  9. (08) Dan Kuriger, New Brighton
  10. (33) Brent Matus, Wampum
  11. (38w) Dennis Wagner, New Castle
  12. (40X) Cory Good, Smicksburg
  13. (51) John Garvin Jr., Sarver
  14. (27) Zach Morrow, Mars
  15. (44) Pete Landrum, Jeanette
  16. (29) James Pryde, Millhall
  17. (5) Bob McMillan, Wampum
  18. (7K) Dan Shetler, Johnstown
  19. (24X) Sye Lynch, Apollo
  20. (23) Darren Pifer, Punxsutawney

Heat Winners: Jack Sodeman Jr., Brandon Matus, Bryan Sebetto

B-Main Winner: Sye Lynch


Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models Feature: (25 Laps)

  1. (111) Matt Lux, Franklin
  2. (72) Michael Norris, Sarver
  3. (H1) Jared Miley, Pittsburgh
  4. (10L) Gary Lyle, Hyde Park
  5. (29) Ken Schaltenbrand, Sarver
  6. (61) Joe Martin, Punxsutawney
  7. (81) Mike Miller, Chicora
  8. (4) Ed Ferree, Valencia
  9. (12M) John Myers, Blairsville
  10. (9) Clayton Kennedy, Mars
  11. (27X) Sam Eichelberger, Level Green
  12. (1C) Mike Pegher Jr, Wexford
  13. (10) Alex Ferree, Saxonburg
  14. (44S) Dave Hess Jr., Waterford
  15. (56) Russ King, Bristolville, OH
  16. (66) Todd Bachman, Natrona Heights

DNS (84) Andrew Wylie, Saltsburg

DNS (411) Bob Moore, Butler

Heat Winners: Michael Norris, Russ King


Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Northeast Big Block Modified Feature: (25 Laps)

  1. (165) Rex King Jr., Bristolville, OH
  2. (65) Rex King Sr., Bristolville, OH
  3. (83) Brian Swartzlander, Leechburg
  4. (6) Mat Williamson, St Catharine’s, ONT
  5. (66M) JR McGinley, Fairmont City
  6. (61) Dave Murdick, Meridian
  7. (37MD) Jeremiah Shingledecker, Polk
  8. (45) Steve Feder, Butler
  9. (23) Jimmy Weller, Liberty, OH
  10. (7Z) Rick Regalski, Slippery Rock
  11. (28) Tom Winkle, Mars
  12. (64) Rodney Beltz, Ellwood City
  13. (83T) Tom Glenn, Barkeyville
  14. (88) Shawn Fleeger, Butler
  15. (03) Mark Frankhouser, Philipsburg
  16. (3K) Shawn Kozar, Renfrew
  17. (28K) Chelsie Kriegisch, Ellwood City
  18. (71) Randy Chronister, Slippery Rock
  19. (218) Travis Walsh, Mars
  20. (96) Mike Turner, Herman
  21. (75) Jeff Miller, Sarver

DNS (35) Steve Slater, Butler

DNS (3E) Eric Gabany, Mercer

DNS (R13) Ralph McBride, Saxonburg

Heat Winners: Jimmy Weller III, Rodney Beltz, Tom WInkle


Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar Sportsman Feature: (20 Laps)

  1. (C33) Corey McPherson, Tarentum
  2. (11) Aaron Easler, Butler
  3. (66) Joe Kelley, Mt. Pleasant
  4. (948) Joe Zambotti, Kittanning
  5. (28Y) Terry Young, Butler
  6. (30) Bob Egley, Kittanning
  7. (27) Butch Lambert, Callery
  8. (3S) Paul Schreckengost, Creighton
  9. (25) Greg Beech, Saxonburg
  10. (10) John Hartman, Cabot
  11. (23) Colin Burke, Sarver
  12. (31) Noah Brunnell, New Alexandria
  13. (9R) Brian Stivenson, Freeport
  14. (26) Mike Bordt, Mars
  15. (21) Jeff Miller, Natrona Heights
  16. (91) Sadie Siegel, Saxonburg
  17. (35) Tyler Dietz, Saxonburg
  18. (17R) Stan Riggle, Ford City

DNS (22) Jim Fosnaught, Bairdford

DNS (29B) Scott Byers, Butler

DNS (380) Pat Hanley, Monroeville

Heat Winners:  Joey Zambotti, Corey McPherson


Car Count Total: 91

Peoples TWP Sprints: 28

Precise Late Models: 18

Diehl Modifieds: 24

Pic-A-Part Sportsman: 21


Contact: Lernerville Speedway

Eric J. Westendorf, Public Relations Director

(724) 664-1075 / ewestendorf@tsmlernerville.com

Photos Courtesy of John Stivason/Stivason Photos



Leave a Reply