Fab4 Racing CANCELED – Three Champions Crowned

7.15 Mat

Mother Nature rules the night, but crowns three Track Champions

Sarver, PA (August 19, 2016) After dodging a pair of storm cells, (one each to the north and south), a third cell popped up on the radar with little warning and dumped 30-40 minutes of rain on the Action Track forcing the cancellation of Friday Night’s Fab4 Fueled by Turner’s Premium Iced Teas racing program. With that cancellation, Russ King, Mat Williamson and Corey McPherson clinched 2016 Track Championships in their respective divisions by virtue of their points lead. A maximum of 40 points (10 for the heat and 30 for the feature) can be earned on a given night of Fab4 Racing and each entered the night with a greater lead than 40 points.

Russ King carried a 49 point lead over Three-Time Defending Track Champion Alex Ferree and while that’s certainly not the way King would have wanted to seal the deal, he is officially the 2016 Track Champion in the Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models just the same. And in doing so, Russ joins his brother Rex, (2014 Diehl Mods Track Champion), to become the first pair of brothers to win Lernerville Track Championships.

Speaking of Rex King Jr., he would have entered the night second in points in the Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Northeast Big Block Modifieds, but Two-Time and Defending Track Champion and seven-time feature winner this season Mat Williamson had a 59-point cushion. The rainout ensured Mat’s spot at the head table of the Annual Awards banquet for the third time in four seasons.

The third beneficiary of tonight’s washout is now four-time Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar Sportsman Track Champion Corey McPherson. McPherson, a four-time feature winner so far this season, entered Friday Night with a 58-point lead over last week’s feature winner Tyler Dietz. McPherson has now won back-to-back titles for the second time in his career, with only Jim Fosnaught’s 2014 Championship season standing in the way of tying John Flinner’s Lernerville record five straight titles.

The only title yet to be determined is that of the Peoples Natural Gas DIRTcar Sprints where Jack Sodeman Jr. holds a 28-point lead over Defending Track Champion AJ Flick. Sodeman will look to join the elite company of names like Blaney, Lynch, Wearing, Ferree, Rankin, Hess, Flick and Murdick as Father-Son Track Champions; Jack Sodeman Sr. won the Sprint title in 1979 and the Modified title in 1985. Flick made his own history last season by making the Flicks the first family to have three generations of Track Champions.

The Peoples Natural Gas Sprint title will be determined next Friday, August 26 on Championship Night and King, Williamson and McPherson will be officially crowned after their respective features are completed.

The following weekend, (on Friday-Saturday, September 2-3), the World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series returns to the Action Track for the Working Man Weekend. The new format for the blockbuster weekend will, for the first time in series history, not include heat races in the program. On Friday night there will be time trials and 25-lap qualifying features that pay $2,500-to-win. The car count will determine how many qualifying features there are. If the car count exceeds 40, there will be three qualifying features; if the car count exceeds 60, there will be four qualifying features. The finale on Saturday night will begin with Last Chance Showdown races and culminate with a 75-lap, $20,000-to-win feature.

Tickets for the Working Man Weekend can be purchased online at LernervilleTickets.com or by calling/visiting the speedway office. All advance ticket purchases include a free fan pit pass upgrade.

Contact: Lernerville Speedway
Eric J. Westendorf, Public Relations Director
(724) 664-1075 / ewestendorf@tsmlernerville.com
Photos Courtesy of Cory Stivason/Stivason Photos

Leave a Reply