Fab4 Fueled by Turner’s Quick Results 7.29

7.29 Brian.JPG

Jack Sodeman Jr. drives his dad’s tribute car to Victory Lane on Nostalgia Night

Swartzlander and Flinner pad Hall of Fame resumes

Zambotti dedicates third win of 2016 to Ralph Engle


Sarver, PA (July 29, 2016) Friday Night was Nostalgia Night and Jack Sodeman Jr. paid a fitting tribute to his Hall of Fame father Jack Sodeman Sr. by driving his retro Arby’s scheme to Dlubak Powder Coatings Victory Lane for the third time this season.  Sodeman, who leads the Peoples Sprints point standings with four races remaining on the schedule, was engaged in a great battle for the lead with Defending Track Champion AJ Flick, but a slide job by Sodeman resulted in Flick lifting and sliding over the cusion in turn four, which in turn resulted in Flick riding the front stretch wall and eventually getting upside down at the flagstand.  Flick landed on four wheels and climbed out of the car, no worse for the wear.  Sodeman held off Sye Lynch and Brandon Matus to score his third win of the season.


Before Sodeman did his trademark wing dance in Victory Lane, future Hall of Famers Brian Swartzlander and John Flinner returned to Victory Lane for the first time this season.  Swartzlander was shot out of a cannon at the drop of the initial green flag and never looked back to score his 91st career feature win in the Diehl Modifieds.  Flinner had a more difficult path to Victory Lane in the Precise Late Models, as he and Mike Pegher Jr. traded paint multiple times before a Flinner slide job in turns three & four resulted in Pegher sliding to a stop at the top of turn four and out of contention as Flinner motored down the front straightaway.  On the ensuing restart, Flinner drove away from points leader Russ King and Michael Norris to score his 43rd career win.


Nostalgia Night came to a dramatic finish as Joey Zambotti held off the furious charges of Defending Track Champion Corey McPherson and Aaron Easler in the Millerstown Pic-A-Part Sportsman.  After scoring his third feature win of the season, Zambotti climbed the front stretch fence and then later in Victory Lane dedicated the win to Lernerville Tech Inspector Ralph Engle who is dealing with health issues.





Peoples Natural Gas DIRTcar 410 Sprint Feature: (25 Laps)

  1. (23Jr) Jack Sodeman Jr., N. Jackson, OH
  2. (24X) Sye Lynch, Apollo
  3. (13) Brandon Matus, Wampum
  4. (7K) Dan Shetler, Johnstown
  5. (51) John Garvin Jr., Sarver
  6. (O) Andy McKisson, Strattanville
  7. (33) Brent Matus, Wampum
  8. (40) George Hobaugh Jr. , Chicora
  9. (27) Zach Morrow, Mars
  10. (C1) Clay Riney, Wellsburg, WV
  11. (44) Pete Landram, Jeanette
  12. (4K) Bill Kiley, Cabot
  13. (11) Scott Priester, Rimersburg
  14. (2) AJ Flick, Apollo
  15. (23) Darren Pifer, Punxsy
  16. (76) Davey Jones, Warrendale
  17. (08) Dan Kuriger, New Brighton
  18. (24) Alex Paden, New Wilmington
  19. (22E) Ralph Engle, Harmony

Heat Winners: Brandon Matus, Alex Paden


Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models Feature: (25 Laps)

  1. (4T8) John Flinner, Zelienople
  2. (56) Russ King, Bristolville, OH
  3. (72) Michael Norris, Sarver
  4. (10) Alex Ferree, Saxonburg
  5. (111) Matt Lux, Franklin
  6. (66) Todd Bachman, Natrona Heights
  7. (29) Ken Schaltenbrand, Sarver
  8. (4) Ed Ferree, Valencia
  9. (B1) Brandon Wearing, Callery
  10. (36) Tony Musolino, Pittsburgh
  11. (1C) Mike Pegher Jr., Wexford
  12. (10L) Gary Lyle, Hyde Park
  13. (27) Michael Lake, Uniontown
  14. (7) Scott Gunn, North Fayette
  15. (8S) Tommy Schirnhofer, Dormont
  16. (84) Andrew Wylie, Saltsburg

DNS (9) Clayton Kennedy, Mars

DNS (81) Mike Miller, Chicora

Heat Winners: Andrew Wylie, Russ King


Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Northeast Big Block Modified Feature: (25 Laps)

  1. (83) Brian Swartzlander, Leechburg
  2. (29) Garrett Krummert, Slippery Rock
  3. (165) Rex King Jr., Bristolville, OH
  4. (6) Mat Williamson, St Catharines. ONT
  5. (65) Rex King Sr., Bristolville, OH
  6. (61) Dave Murdick, Meridian
  7. (37MD) Jeremiah Shingledecker, Polk
  8. (45) Steve Feder, Butler
  9. (7Z) Mark Flick, Apollo
  10. (96) Mike Turner, Herman
  11. (64) Rodney Beltz, Ellwood City
  12. (66M) JR McGinley, Fairmont City
  13. (03) Mark Frankhouser, Philipsburg
  14. (28) Tom Winkle, Mars
  15. (31) Jim Weller III, Hubbard, OH
  16. (75) Jeff Miller, Sarver

Heat Winners: Mike Turner, Dave Murdick


Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar Sportsman Feature: (20 Laps)

  1. (948) Joe Zambotti, Kittanning
  2. (C33) Corey McPherson, Tarentum
  3. (11) Aaron Easler, Butler
  4. (22) Jim Fosnaught, Bairdford
  5. (30) Bob Egley, Kittanning
  6. (35) Tyler Dietz, Saxonburg
  7. (27) Brandon Wearing, Callery
  8. (25) Brett McDonald, Saxonburg
  9. (9R) Brian Stivenson, Freeport
  10. (21) Jeff Miller, Natrona Heights
  11. (26) Mike Bordt, Mars
  12. (29B) Scott Byers, Butler
  13. (3S) Paul Schreckengost, Creighton
  14. (91) Sadie Siegel, Saxonburg
  15. (28Y) Terry Young, Butler
  16. (10) John Hartman, Cabot
  17. (380) Pat Hanley, Monroeville
  18. (66) Joe Kelley, Mt. Pleasant

Heat Winners:  Joe Kelley, Joey Zambotti


Car Count Total: 66

Peoples TWP Sprints: 18

Precise Late Models: 15

Diehl Modifieds: 15

Pic-A-Part Sportsman: 16


Contact: Lernerville Speedway

Eric J. Westendorf, Public Relations Director

(724) 664-1075 / ewestendorf@tsmlernerville.com

Photos Courtesy of John Stivason/Stivason Photos



Leave a Reply